Skip to content
November 19, 2011 / windlessly

Dubstep- What Is It?

Whenever people ask me, “What the heck is dubstep?” I simply smile and shake my head. Without a word, I lead them to the closest computer and look up Skrillex or Nero or Mt Eden. If a computer’s not available, I take out my ipod and hand them the headphones so they can experience the music for themselves. There’s no other way to relate the experience. Any description I give them is useless. The definition I can think of for dubstep is “a genre of electronic music that makes heavy use of synthesizers, wobble bass, intense drum patterns, huge drops, keyboard, and unconventional sounds.” But if you’ve never heard dubstep before, that doesn’t really make sense- I might as well go with the above picture and say that dubstep sounds like armored tyrannosaurus rexes shooting laser beams through Cretaceous forests. Yeah. I encourage you to listen for yourself though- below are only two songs out of many. (When listening, keep staring at the picture above and comment on how close you think it comes to capturing the music!)

It’s a pretty jarring genre of music, but in a cool sort of way. It took me a while to get used to it, and even now I have specific preferences. There are a TON of artists and dubstep songs out there, so don’t give up on the first few songs if you find them unappealing. Here’s one of my recent favorites, a softer form of dubstep that ingeniously combines piano and dubstep.

Leave a Reply

