Skip to content
June 7, 2012 / windlessly

Happiness in Being Busy

As the year is winding down, my daily lifestyle is becoming drastically different. While on one hand I’m becoming extremely lazy because of the lack of homework, to balance that out in the other I have a sudden increase in social events, banquets, dinners, and celebrations to go to for the end of senior year. This post is about both of those.

I could not be more thankful that I no longer have to worry about doing any substantial amount of homework during the week. It’s such a freeing feeling after a long year of APs and deadlines… I get out from school (which at this point feels like one studyhall after another), go home, eat food, sleep, watch movies, turn on the French Open on the TV, check Facebook, eat dinner, and then squander away the rest of the evening before I crash into bed. It’s totally relaxing, trust me. But sometimes throughout the day I feel really bored, guilty, unproductive, or just sluggish for spending my time that way, especially if I’m just cooped up in my house. Then I went to a Senior Banquet for the Music Department and read this poem in the program, which was really inspiring:

Happiness

To be without desire is to be content.
But contentment is not happiness.
And in contentment there is no progress.
Happiness is to desire something, to work for it, and to obtain at least a part of it.
In the pursuit of beloved labor the busy days pass cheerfully employed, and still nights in peaceful sleep.
For labor born of desire is not drudgery, but manly play.
Success brings hope, hope inspires fresh desire, and desire gives zest to life and joy to labor.
This is true whether your days be spent in the palaces of the powerful or in some little green by-way of the world.

Therefore, while yet you have the strength, cherish a desire to do some useful work in your little corner of the world, and have the steadfastness to labor.
For this is the way to the happy life; with health and endearing ties, it is the way to the glorious life.

 -Max Ehrmann

Needless to say, I went home that night and immediately picked up my flute to practice for the first time in a couple of weeks. And it felt good! As summer rushes in I’m going to keep this poem in mind, because I know it to be true. It also happens to be the reason I started blogging again… it may be work and frustrating and time-consuming when I’m writing these posts, but I derive satisfaction from it and it keeps away the idleness. I’m also glad I found this verse in the Bible to reaffirm my thoughts: “Slothfulness casts into a deep sleep; and an idle soul shall suffer hunger.” -Proverbs 19:15.

Leave a Reply

