Skip to content
June 28, 2012 / windlessly

What A Car Really Is

So I just turned 18 yesterday. There’s a sense of pride and accomplishment in that, I guess, followed by thoughts of “yay, I’m mature and adult-like now!” And then the realization that I can now legally smoke, gamble, and vote. But what gets me most of all is the fact that I now have my full driver’s license! 

There’s nothing more satisfying then taking the car for a ride or just being able to drive alone. There’s a sense of freedom and responsibility that comes with having a license that reminds me of the Jack Sparrow quote from the Pirates of the Caribbean

“”Wherever we want to go, we go. That’s what a ship is, you know. It’s not just a keel and a hull and a deck and sails; that’s what a ship needs. But what a ship is…what the Black Pearl really is…is freedom.“― Jack Sparrow

That in itself is reason enough for celebration. So yeah, I’m 18 and ready to drive! And most of all, I’ll never forget the wisdom in Jack Sparrow’s words. 

Leave a Reply

