Skip to content
June 30, 2012 / windlessly

Potential in God

Image

You don’t often stop to think about where you’re going in life or where you plan to be in a couple of years… as humans we often find comfort in routine. Wake up, find breakfast, finish obligatory duties, do chores, complete relational duties, eat, work, interact with other living beings that cross your path, relax, take care of bodily functions, sleep. Where are YOU going to be in 5 years? What sort of routine will you be in then? Your lifestyle is always going to revolve around some kind of goal, be it school, college, work, or supporting yourself and/or others. But how often do you stop to redirect yourself? 

This thought is especially poignant for people like myself, who are constantly told that we are in a “very important transition of our lives.” Yes Mom, I realize that I will be heading off to college next year. But the same is true for everyone else- no matter who it is, this coming fall they will be heading off to the next year of their lives. It’s always unsettling to not really know where you are going to be in the future. Unlike some people, I am totally undecided as to what my major will be next year when I enter college. It’s scary to face so many decisions that will ultimately impact where I take myself in 5 years. The only thing for me to do is to trust in God, the person who has brought me here this far. All of my successes, triumphs, and accomplishments are dedicated to him. And in thinking about that, I’ve come to the realization that there is so much potential in trusting God. I mean, I don’t think it’s ever a bad idea to trust in the most powerful being in the universe- who knows where I will be in 5 years? I certainly don’t.

But it’s comforting to know that opportunity is out there. It’s working God into my daily routine that will get me there. 

“Anyone can count the seeds in an apple, but only God can count the apples in a seed.” — Robert H. Schuller

Image

Leave a Reply

