Skip to content
August 25, 2012 / windlessly

California: Family

A good friend and leader once told me that it’s nice to have a circle of people around you who all support each other, to encourage each other, and sometimes to say those encouraging things to each other out loud. “Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing.” – 1 Thessalonians 5:11. And what better example than your very own family?

I’m so proud of them. (Wai Po and Wai Gong must’ve had some very nice genes). Between the 14 of us cousins, I can’t imagine a more varied, talented, and good-looking group of people =P But seriously, I wonder what we’ll all be doing in 20 years. With the way we’ve all gone down different career paths (it seems), it’ll be interesting to have another reunion when we’re all adults. And married. And have kids. WOAH.

I think for now I’ll just bask in the memories of the past few days, all the things I’ve done, all the fun moments that have occurred. People can deny it all they want, but family is important. And the time that we spend together is the time we have to cherish above all.

Laura: it was so good to see you!! Haha you’re like the responsible big sister that also acts very weird sometimes, but that just makes you more fun to be around =D. You have a good heart, and you are a mature role model to me, whether you like that or not. Your personality stands out to me in a way I can’t describe, but it’s (mostly) in a good way =P Thanks for helping me pack. You basically saved my life. Your website is awesome, and I can’t believe you pulled off a platypus amigurumi in a single night, which I am still thankful for. You’re the best! (Just not at tetris hehe.) Jeremiah 29:11.

  

Esther. I don’t have to say a lot because I think we both already know how awesome and encouraging it is to have another cousin the same age as us. You’ve been such an spiritual inspiration, and I still can’t believe you got up at 7:30 to go running that one day! =O Take me with you next time. Thanks for taking me to the beach and church, it’s by far one of my favorite parts of coming to Cali. You’re baking skills have vastly improved (to the point where you can make three layer macromes with a single bake…! xD), and you take good care of David and Mo (and me, when I’m there…) Stay strong! Isaiah 30:18.

  

David! Hahaha I want to hire you to be my personal hair stylist. Thanks for another fun vacation, I can ALWAYS count on you to keep my entertained! I’ll get you in basketball 1v1 next time, but for now I’ll just hold onto my H-O-R-S-E title =P. I think you easily qualify to be the most athletic of us cousins, I can hardly keep up with you anymore >.> Badminton was a lot of fun, and you never fail to astound me with what you build next in your garage. You have great perseverance to live (edit: survive) in a household of girls, so keep living by God and He’ll provide! Hope you get your dog soon =D. Hebrews 13:1.

  

Momo… ahem, pokepokepokepokepokePOKEpokepokePOKEpokePOKEPOKEULTRAPOKE. Hehehe I’m done. Thanks for playing Monopoly Deal and Bananagrams with me when I was bored. You’re getting so tall and pretty now! Haha so much that I’m starting to see a lot of Esther and Laura in you! It’s always more lively and happy in the house when you’re around =D. We were all sad when you got sick, but at least I had a fun time (sort of) being buried at the beach =P And thanks for making all that delicious crepe for us, I don’t know how many I ended up having but it was all delicious! I’ll miss hearing you play piano (and my favorite song that I can’t play but you can)! Romans 15:13.

  

 

Aunt Bonnie and Uncle Daniel, I in fact owe you more gratitude than I can express in a few words. You have unfailingly welcomed me into your house every single time I pop up in California, made certain I had a ride to and from the airport, relentlessly took care of my every need, treated me like one of your own. You’ve made me feel at home (right down to washing the dishes), and for that I truly thank you for your time and effort! And above all, I think you set a good example for how to lead a spiritual household- it’s been a blessing every time I’ve had the chance to join you! 1 Corinthians 13:13 and 1 Corinthians 11:3.

And Michael- just because he’s the cutest most gangster but adorable kid I know. I don’t understand how he does it, but he’s a taekwondo-chopping ball of energy and his poses are priceless. MICHAEL COME BACK TO ME! Psalm 127:3.

 

I love our family.

Leave a Reply

