Skip to content
September 6, 2012 / windlessly

VERSE- Peace of God

Philippians 4:7
“And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.”

There are a couple reasons why I love this verse. The peace of God “passeth all understanding,” assuring us that we will never be able to conceive the full grandeur of God. His power and understanding extends further than anything we can imagine. So why try? If we did understand Him, then we’d be gods ourselves. And I know for me, that’s not happening any time soon. Every time I hear about dark matter or quantum physics, I’m reassured that God is in control, and humans will never fully be able to comprehend His universe and creation. If we can’t understand the peace He provides for us, the next best thing is the trust in Him.

Heart and mind. The two (arguably) most important aspects of a person. They are also pesky little things that cause me no end of stress and heartache. Especially throughout high school, let me tell you. Homework, teachers, family, friends, sports, standardized testing, college search, boyfriend/girlfriend search, money (lack of), time (extreme lack of), procrastination… all these things and the troubles that come with them are somehow related to your mind (logic, reasoning, the part of you that adds 5 hours of homework and the fact that it’s 2 a.m. together to equate to panic time) or heart (desire, emotion, foreveralone).

So. Remembering this verse, for me, is like a release of tension. I don’t HAVE to understand everything that’s happening, because it says that God’s grace and mercy transcends all understanding. It gives me peace of mind, knowing that through Christ Jesus our Savior and best friend, that I can entrust my heart and mind and get through my daily struggles.

Leave a Reply

