Skip to content
August 6, 2013 / windlessly

August 6th, 2013

Time sure has flown. It has been such a long time since I’ve revisited this site, had half a mind to even log back on to WordPress and force my fingers to move along the keyboard, pressing keys and watching the words pop magically onto the screen. And yet here I am, writing, because writing is an integral part of who I am. Except when doing the writing seems to take up too much time. 

 

But why? I know I have enough time. But I guess somewhere in the back of my mind, I am constantly questioning my purpose here and why I have spent these next few minutes dedicated to making a post. It certainly isn’t for pure enjoyment- for me, enjoyment comes in the form of video games, eating ice cream, watching dance crew videos on YouTube, and perhaps perusing over my newly found addiction in The Big Bang Theory. And if not pure enjoyment, does blogging give me a sense of fulfillment? Yes, but not in any way that I couldn’t achieve by writing in my own personal journal. Why write on the web, where I am restricted by my own desire to sound coherent and respectable to total strangers?

 

And so I return to the question- if I have established that I am not necessarily writing for my own benefit, am I writing for any reader in particular? I hardly think so- these words are so convoluted and the logical flow of these sentences barely fit together, so I’m amazing you made it so far. And so I’m sitting at my computer, just imagining this beautiful picture- attached to this keyboard that lays beneath my hands is a wire that transmits the signals I’m triggering to this typewriter in a wide open, expanseless plane. And every time I press a key, a black letter gets shot by way of a lever into the distance, flung as if by a catapult, and goes rocketing into blank and empty space. I just sent another dozen letters, here, and they’re no longer here but out there, somewhere in the coordinate grid of the Internet. 

 

It’s a funny world, and I’m surprised I had the energy to finish those last few paragraphs which came out of me on a whim. Thank you for your time. 

Leave a Reply

