Skip to content
March 31, 2014 / windlessly

China Chronicles 3.31- Blessings for Granted

Image

 

So Bryson and I ended up being late to our very first class today! There was a location change and we walked in the completely wrong direction, only to find the classroom empty. But it was okay- we had a nice walk and got a great view of the lake as we went. 

Coming to Beijing has made me realize all of the things I take for granted back home in the states. Simply breathing in fresh air that you must be doing right now (even I’m writing this with an air purifier right next to my desk) is such a joy. Deep breath. Taste the sweetness yet? And then there’s the gift of clean water- I complained that Crothers didn’t have any water fountains all of this year. The reality? Toilet water in the states is probably still safer to drink than the water supply in many areas of the world. I could go on and on: I get excited now when I get to see any shade of blue in the sky. I’m thankful when the sun is visible during the day. I’m lucky to have shoes to walk around in. 

Life at PKU is fantastic. You don’t appreciate the luxury of Facebook and WordPress until you have to set up a VPN to use it. Access to a gym is suddenly special and privileged when you have to pay for a membership yourself. I’m sure I’m not even coming close to listing out all the blessings we take for granted every single hour. It’s just a reminder that God blesses the socks off of every single one of us, whether we notice or not. 

 

Leave a Reply

